Members |  Forum Rules |  Search

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Leads and speeds
Jesse
Posted: Jul 08, 2024 - 04:52 pm

Lunker Trout

Group: Members
Member No.: 16608

I've been downrigging for a couple years now I've always used the theory of the deeper I go the shorter the lead so if I'm in a 100 feet of water using a flasher and anchovie I would use a 25 foot to 30 foot lead when in fifty feet I use 50 feet of lead and it seems to work with speeds around 1.9 to 2.5 mph when I use a spoon I like keeping a longer lead like 75feet back down 50 feet trolling anywhere from 2.5 to 3mph what do you guys use for a lead and what speed for certain spoons or flasher setups on the great lakes I'm curious to know not that I want to steal anyone's magic I'm just trying to put more salmon in the boat this year

PMEmail Poster
Icemanjay
Posted: Jul 09, 2024 - 04:16 am

Trophy Trout

Member No.: 13620

Hi Jesse, sounds like you’re having success, on the days that you’re not you’ve just gotta play around with your leads and speeds. I’ll use 40-50 feet typically with anything, unless it’s one of those hot fish (fish shaped) flashers, they’ll make a huge mess if you’re too far from the ball, like 20 max. Sometimes I’ll have a spoon 20 feet from the ball and find out that’s what they want. On days when it’s a grind I’ll try a longer lead. Same with speeds, if somethings working stick with it. If you’re not catching anything start playing with speeds. Definitely don’t be afraid to play with speed as I believe it’s more of a factor than leads typically. A good trick if you’re off on your own like I try to be is to start doing turns, it makes your outside set up go faster and inside a bit slower, if one starts going off you can adjust your speed up or down and give it a try. I don’t mean to be vague, it’s just one of those things…

PMEmail Poster
Fishnhunt
Posted: Jul 09, 2024 - 06:30 am

World Record Trout

Member No.: 15869